Raspberry White Chocolate Chifle

White Chocolate ChifleWhile back in Sussex last week I revisited some old books at my parents’ house including some old recipe books. I came across this raspberry white chocolate chifle from a Women’s Institute cookery book. I loved this modern updated version of the traditional trifle with the addition of cream cheese that perfectly complements the vanilla sponge and raspberries. This summery take on a trifle also has me looking towards Christmas and I may have even bought my first Christmas magazine at the airport (oops, I couldn’t resist!).
While this Women’s Institute chifle has several ingredients, it is very easy to make. I simply placed vanilla cake sponges on the bottom of the dishes and spooned raspberries over the top. I then took a pot of fresh custard and added a tub of cream cheese and tablespoonful of sugar to half the tub of custard and topped the raspberries with this mix. I whipped half a 250ml pot of cream and folded in 100g of melted white chocolate and a tablespoonful of sugar. Once the chocolate mixture was thoroughly combined I layered this over the cream cheese mixture in the dishes and finally topped with a further 125ml of whipped cream.
Cake pieces Cake base Chifle Topping Raspberries ChifleWhite Chocolate Chifle

Leave a Reply

